Federal Council appoints Larissa Bieler, Christine Gabella and Colin Porlezza to the Media Commission

At its meeting on Wednesday, the Federal Council appointed three new members to the Federal Media Commission (FMEK): Larissa Bieler, Christine Gabella and Colin Porlezza.

The three new members of the Federal Media Commission (from left to right): Christine Gabella, Colin Porlezza and Larissa Bieler.

The three new members will replace Milena Folletti, Andrea Masüger and Anna Jobin, who was elected as the new president of the EMEK in autumn 2021, as of March 1, 2022. The EMEK is thus complete again after some changes.

Larissa Bieler is Director and Editor-in-Chief of SWI swissinfo.ch and designated member of the SRG SSR Executive Board. She has many years of experience in digital journalism and print, both at an operational and strategic level. She knows all about the challenges of digital transformation in journalism.

Christine Gabella is Vice President of the Association Médias Suisses and Delegate for French-speaking Switzerland of the Management Board Journalism at Tamedia. She is not only familiar with the tasks facing the Swiss publishing industry, and French-speaking Switzerland in particular, but has also studied Swiss media policy in depth.

Colin Porlezza is Senior Assistant Professor of Digital Journalism at the Università della Svizzera italiana. His research includes the use and ethics of artificial intelligence in journalism, and he contributes the perspective of Italian-speaking Switzerland.

EMEK President Otfried Jarren had resigned in the fall and was replaced by Anna Jobin. Andrea Masüger and Milena Folletti resigned from the EMEK after about four years and about one and a half years respectively for professional reasons.

More articles on the topic