Daniel Brühl is Jury President of the Feature Film Competition at the 17th ZFF

Hollywood actor Daniel Brühl will head the jury for the Feature Film Competition at the 17th Zurich Film Festival. He will be joined on the jury by former Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick, among others. Other juries are also made up of high-calibre members.

Daniel BrühlBack in 2013, Brühl presented the Formula 1 drama "Rush" at the Zurich Film Festival in which he portrayed Niki Lauda. Two years ago, the actor was a guest at the ZFF with French director Julie Delpy and her drama "My Zoe". Now Brühl is visiting the ZFF again and presiding over the jury of the "Feature Film Competition".

"Daniel Brühl is not only one of the most successful German character actors, but also one of the most versatile: The Spanish-German dual citizen speaks six languages - German, Catalan, Spanish, English, French and Italian - and is therefore predestined to preside over the jury of our feature film competition as President," explains Christian Jungen, Artistic Director of the ZFF. "Daniel has also just made an outstanding directorial debut with "Nebenan", so he brings not only the actor's eye, but also that of the director and producer. And he is a great friend of ZFF. So we're very pleased to welcome him back to Zurich as jury president."

Brühl will be flanked on the feature film jury by French-Swiss Stéphanie Chuat, co-director of "Schwesterlein", producer Andrea Cornwell, who is currently developing the Apple TV+ series "The Essex Serpent" for director Clio Barnard, as well as long-time Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick.

Other top-class jury members

The jury for the documentary film competition is also top-class: Asif Kapadia, who won an Oscar for the documentary "Amy" and also celebrated major successes with "Senna" and "Diego Maradona", heads the jury. He is assisted by Hanka Kastelicová, vice president of the documentary department of HBO Europe, Gregory Kershaw, co-director of last year's ZFF discovery "The Truffle Hunters", French cinematographer Sophie Maintigneux, who already worked in her twenties for Éric Rohmer and Jean-Luc Godard, as well as Swiss producer Michela Pini, who is co-supervising the upcoming films by Simon Jaquemet and Cyril Schäublin.

The Focus Competition jury is chaired by German director Sönke Wortmann, who was at ZFF in 2020 with the film "Contra". Furthermore, the films will be judged by Danish actress Sandra Guldberg Kampp, who wowed audiences last year at ZFF with the film "Wildland (Kød & Blod)" and can be seen on this year's ZFF poster, Zurich editor Caterina Mona, whose feature debut "Semret" is due to be released next year, "Platzspitzbaby" director Pierre Monnard and Romanian producer Ada Solomon, who is presenting her film "Bad Luck banging or Loony Porn" in this year's hashtag section #letSEXplore.

(Visited 253 times, 1 visits today)

More articles on the topic