Swiss Film Award 2023: Quartz Trophies for "Drii Winter" and "Cascadeuses

The winners of the 2023 Swiss Film Awards were announced in Geneva on Friday evening. In the two main categories, the Swiss Film Academy awarded the feature film "Drii Winter" and the documentary "Cascadeuses". The award ceremony took place in the presence of President Alain Berset at the Bâtiment des Forces Motrices.

(Image: zVg. Swiss Film Award)

"Drii Winter" by Michael Koch was awarded Best Feature Film 2023. The Quartz Trophy for Best Documentary Film went to Elena Avdija for "Cascadeuses". "Je suis Noires" by Juliana Fanjul and Rachel M'Bon received the award in the Best Short Film category. "The Record" by Jonathan Laskar was awarded in the "Best Animated Film" category. "Ours" by Morgane Frund was recognized as the best graduation film.

The feature film "La Ligne" by Ursula Meier was awarded prizes in three categories: Stéphanie Blanchoud was honored as best actress for her role as Margaret, Elli Spagnolo as best supporting actress for her role as Marion, and Stéphanie Blanchoud, Ursula Meier and Antoine Jaccoud for best screenplay. The award for best actor went to Manfred Liechti for his role as Peter K. in the feature film "Peter K. - Alleine gegen den Staat".

Two Quartz trophies went to Carmen Jaquier's feature film directorial debut "Foudre": to Nicolas Rabaeus for Best Film Score and to Carlos Ibañez-Diaz and Denis Séchaud for Best Sound. Silvan Hillmann was awarded the prize for Best Cinematography for "Unrueh", and Karine Sudan was awarded the prize for Best Montage in the film "(Im)mortels". The Academy's special prize was awarded this year to Barbara Fischer and Giles Foreman for their work as acting coaches. The laudatory speech for Ruth Waldburger, who was honored with the Honorary Award for her life's work as a film producer, was given by President Alain Berset, head of the Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA.

The next edition of the Swiss Film Awards will take place on Friday, March 22, 2024 in Zurich.

The Swiss Film Award 2023

Best Feature Film: "Drii Winter" by Michael Koch (hugofilm features GmbH, Christof Neracher)

Best Documentary: "Cascadeuses" by Elena Avdija (Bande à part Films Sàrl, Agnieszka Ramu, Marie-Lou Pahud).

Best Short Film: "Je suis Noires" by Juliana Fanjul, Rachel M'Bon (Akka Films Sàrl, Palmyre Badinier, Philippe Coeytaux, Nicolas Wadimoff).

Best Animated FilmThe Record" by Jonathan Laskar (Papier perforé / Punched paper films, Sophie Laskar-Haller, Jonathan Laskar)

Best Screenplay: "La Ligne" - Stéphanie Blanchoud, Ursula Meier, Antoine Jaccoud

Best Actress: Stéphanie Blanchoud (Margaret) in "La Ligne".

Best Actor: Manfred Liechti (Peter K.) in "Peter K - Alone against the State".

Best Supporting Actress: Elli Spagnolo (Marion) in "La Ligne".

Best Film Score: "Foudre" - Nicolas Rabaeus

Best camera: "Unrueh" - Silvan Hillmann

Best assembly: "(Im)mortels" - Karine Sudan

Best sound: "Foudre" - Carlos Ibañez-Diaz, Denis Séchaud

Best Graduation Film: "Ours" by Morgane Frund (HSLU Video Studies Department).

Special Award of the Academy: Barbara Fischer, Acting Coach, and Giles Foreman, Acting Coach.

Honor Award: Ruth Waldburger, for her life's work as a producer

The Federal Department of Home Affairs selects the winners from among the nominated films based on the recommendations of the approximately 500 paying members of the Swiss Film Academy. No additional monetary amounts are paid out for winning the film prize.

The tribute to local filmmaking is realized by the Federal Office of Culture FOC with its partners SRG SSR and Association "Quartz" Genève Zürich and organized in collaboration with Swiss Films, the Swiss Film Academy and the Solothurn Film Festival.

More articles on the topic