Hans Ringier Foundation honors Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas

In 2022, the Hans Ringier Foundation's European Prize for Political Culture will go to Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas. According to foundation president Frank A. Meyer, she is a great personality of the European culture of freedom.

Ignazio Cassis, President of the Swiss Confederation, Frank A. Meyer, President of the Hans Ringier Foundation, Kaja Kallas, Prime Minister of Estonia, Arvo Hallik, husband of Kaja Kallas. Portrait by artist Tania Jacobi.

Kaja Kallas received the "Europe Prize for Political Culture" from the Hans Ringier Foundation on Saturday, August 6, 2022, in Ascona.

"Kaja Kallas is a courageous woman - and she is much more than that: Estonia's prime minister stands for the courage of a small country in dangerous times. She pleads for resolute resistance by the West against Putin's criminal war: negotiations with the dictator should be renounced 'until Ukraine is free'. Kaja Kallas speaks for a nation just over the size of Switzerland, which as Russia's immediate neighbor is particularly exposed to the Kremlin's aggressiveness - and has 50 years of violent repression by the Moscow regime behind it. The stateswoman and with her 1.3 million inhabitants of Estonia stand, if you will: on the front line for the freedom of the Western world," comments the President of the Hans Ringier Foundation Frank A. Meyer on the choice of this year's laureate.

Ignazio Cassis, President of the Swiss Confederation, paid tribute to the laureate in his laudation: "By clearly addressing injustice where it happens, by clearly speaking out when human rights are violated, you have become a weighty European figure. For a good year and a half as prime minister, you have stood up for our Western values, our common values. In a democracy, it is also about keeping the truth alive. If we want to do that, it takes the courage to unmask the untruth."

The award took place during the traditional "Dîner Républicain", which is held annually at the invitation of Frank A. Meyer at the hotel "Castello del Sole" in Ascona.

The €50,000 Europe Prize is being awarded for the sixteenth time and has previously gone to Jean-Claude Juncker, Boris Tadić, Jürgen Habermas, Pascal Lamy, Jean-Claude Trichet, Hans-Dietrich Genscher, Donald Tusk, Wolfgang Schäuble, Heinrich August Winkler, Mario Draghi, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Margrethe Vestager, Sir Christopher Munro Clark, Zuzana Čaputová and Peter Sloterdijk.

Above from left to right Marco Solari - President Locarno Film Festival, Franziska Hoppermann - Member of the German Bundestag, Ebbe Herfs-Röttgen - Wife of Norbert Röttgen, Paola Rodoni-Cassis - Wife of Ignazio Cassis, Ignazio Cassis - President of the. Switzerland, Norbert Röttgen - member of the German Bundestag, Wolfgang Schmidt - head of the Federal Chancellery, Philippa Sigl-Glöckner - companion of Wolfgang Schmidt and economist and director of the Berlin think tank Dezernat Zukunft, Norbert Hoppermann - husband of Franziska Hoppermann. Below from left to right Franca Lindner - wife of Christian Lindner, Frank A. Meyer, Kaja Kallas - Prime Minister of Estonia, Arvo Hallik - husband of Kaja Kallas, Lilith Frey - hostess, Christian Lindner - German Federal Minister of Finance.
(Visited 350 times, 1 visits today)

More articles on the topic